Employee Spotlight: Jason Cowell

Name: Jason Cowell

Position at UWGB: Assistant Professor of Psychology

Summary of what you do: I teach many of our neuroscience and cognition courses in the undergraduate psychology major. I also direct the Neuroscience Lab, where my students and I run experiments on the neurophysiology of morality and empathy.

How long have you been employed: 3.5 years

Brief history of employment with UWGB: I began as an Assistant Professor at UWGB 3.5 years ago and am also the Vice Chair of Psychology as of this year.

Three words that describe you: enthusiastic, inquisitive, and empathic

Personal interests: biking, skiing, swimming, singing

Random facts/interests: I’m originally from the U.P. of Michigan, so I love everything about snow, fat biking, skiing, and saunas.

Are you messy or organized? Definitely messy

Best vacation you’ve been to? I spent a week in Istanbul during my post-doc and explored so many mosques and temples.

Favorite travel spot? I love to go visit and kayak the waterfalls of the UP.

If you had to eat one meal, every day for the rest of your life, what would it be? I am a huge fan of Mexican food, so a traditional mole is my go-to comfort food.

Least favorite Food? Tomatoes, for some reason I like sauces with them but I’ve never liked them raw.

Top 3 life highlights? The birth of my (now 2.5 year old) daughter Isabel, Defending my dissertation and receiving my Ph.D., and traveling to many countries during my post-doctoral fellowship at the University of Chicago.

What advice would you give to recent new hires? Explore all the opportunities campus offers, from music, plays, and art exhibits, to working out at Kress.

What aspect of your role do you enjoy the most? I appreciate my role as a Professor in engendering enthusiasm in psychology and neuroscience.

What celebrity do people think you look like? I get a lot of people saying I look like Seth Rogan.

What do you like to do in your spare time? I take my daughter biking, skiing, swimming, and hiking.

What do you like to do on your days off? I enjoy reading, so you’ll find me reading fiction or enjoying the outdoors.

Hidden talent? Singing, before I went into Psychology and Neuroscience, I was a voice major and played a role in over 30 musicals and operas.

Where is your home town? Marquette, Michigan