Employee Spotlight: Alan Burkart













Name: Alan Burkart

Position at UWGB: HR Student Office Assistant

How long you have been employed: June 2017


Where is your hometown?

Fond Du Lac, WI

Are you messy or organized?


If Hollywood made a movie about your life, who would you like to see cast as you?

Jake Gyllenhaal

If you could witness any historical event what would you want to see?


If you were an animal what would it be?

A bear

Tell us about your family

Family of Four. Originally from Tennessee. Moved all over the east coast (total of 5-6 times) because of father’s occupation as a Human Resources Manager and eventually ended up in Wisconsin in 2011. Mother currently works at high school (St. Mary Springs Academy) as a teacher’s assistant and periodically helps mentally impaired children learn within hometown of Fond Du Lac, WI though homeschooling. Father is a Human Resource Manager at Bosch Inc. in New Richmond, WI. Brother is currently working as a Farm technician around the east side of WI at various dairy farms, mainly near Chilton, WI and Fond Du Lac, WI.

Surprise you?

I was originally born in Irkutsk Russia and was adopted at the age of 2 years old.

Top 3 life highlights thus far in life (age 20):

    1. Wrestling career throughout elementary school and high school.
    2. Basic Training at Fort Benning, GA and continuing with Military career currently.
    3. Studying abroad in France over the Spring Semester 2018 through my beloved university, UWGB.

What advice would you give to recent new hires?

Be diligent at work and take charge of the work you perform. When given tasks to complete, complete them correctly and with the best of your knowledge and know-how. If you do not know the answer, ask or do some research to find the answer. If you run out of things to do, either ask around the office if anything needs to get done or if assistance is needed on anything. Try not to get distracted when having nothing to work on, find something, even if it is cleaning up the office space. The office always needs improving.

What do you like to do on your days off?

Ride my motorcycle to a local restaurant or bar and enjoy some cheese curds and a burger, following up with local news and football on the TV.

What is the first concert you attended?

My first concert was a Keith Urban Concert. The most recent concert was a Tom Petty concert just before he passed away.

What is the first thing you would buy if you won the lottery?

A pretty fancy car, and all the rest would be put in savings. I do not need to spend that much money now during college. However, after college is a different story.

What phobias do you have?



What one food do you wish had zero calories?

Lays Potato Chips

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

Either serving my country, Active Duty side, overseas, or in an office chair employed to a decent sized, well-known company.

Hidden Talent?

I can juggle pretty well

What did you always want to be when growing up?

A firefighter – it is still my back up plan.

What places have you lived?

Russia, TN, NY, NC, IN, WI

What celebrity do people think you most look like?

Michael Cera