News and More from UWGB's Center for the Advancement of Teaching and Learning


2018 SNTA Winners

The Student Nominated Teaching Awards have wrapped up for another year.  This year the award was changed from being awarded to just two instructors, to all instructors who received at least 2 nominations demonstrating real impact on the student experience.

CATL and the IDC awarded the following 53 instructors:

  • Mandeep Bakshi, Natural and Applied Sciences
  • Danielle Bina, Information and Computing Sciences
  • Bryan Carr, Information and Computing Sciences
  • Heather Clarke, Business Administration
  • Jason Cowell, Human Development
  • Ryan Currier, Natural and Applied Sciences
  • Karen Dalke, Public and Environmental Affairs
  • Christin DePouw, Education
  • Heidi Fencl, Natural and Applied Sciences
  • Jamie Froh Tyrrell, Education
  • Regan Gurung, Human Development
  • Stefan Hall, Humanities
  • Jennifer Ham, Humanities
  • David Helpap, Public and Environmental Affairs
  • Michael Hencheck, Human Biology
  • Georgette Heyrman, Human Biology
  • Patricia Hicks, Human Development
  • Michael Holstead, Humanities
  • James Horn, Natural and Applied Sciences
  • Isabel Iglesias, Humanities
  • Kevin Kain, Humanities
  • Ryan Kauth, Business Administration
  • Harvey Kaye, Democracy and Justice Studies
  • Carly Kibbe, Human Biology
  • Emily Kincaid, Writing Center
  • Mary Sue Lavin, Phuture Phoenix
  • Minkyu Lee, Art and Design
  • Ekaterina Levintova, Democracy and Justice Studies
  • Tetyana Malysheva, Natural and Applied Sciences
  • Ryan Martin, Human Development
  • Rebecca Meacham, Humanities
  • Brian Merkel, Human Biology
  • Amanda Nelson, Human Biology
  • Cristina Ortiz, Humanities
  • Debra Pearson, Human Biology
  • Uwe Pott, Human Biology
  • Emily Ransom, Humanities
  • Kim Reilly, Democracy and Justice Studies
  • Ellen Rosewall, Art and Design
  • Laura Rowell, Human Biology
  • Nichole Rued, Writing Center
  • Sarah Schuetze, Humanities
  • Sawa Senzaki, Human Development
  • Christine Smith, Human Development
  • Alison Staudinger, Democracy and Justice Studies
  • Jagadeep Thota, Natural and Applied Sciences
  • Linda Toonen, Humanities
  • Sara Wagner, Human Biology
  • Sam Watson, Art and Design
  • Aaron Weinschenk, Public and Environmental Affairs
  • Elizabeth Wheat, Public and Environmental Affairs
  • Georjeanna Wilson-Doenges, Human Development
  • Julie Wondergem, Natural and Applied Sciences

Students – Nominate Your Instructor (by 3/1/18)


Do you have a professor who has made a significant impact on your learning at UW-Green Bay? Consider nominating them for a STUDENT NOMINATED TEACHING AWARD (SNTA)

The Instructional Development Council presents the Student Nominated Teaching Award. This award recognizes and rewards excellent teaching from the perspective of students. Students are encouraged to nominate an instructor who has made a significant impact on their learning.

You can nominate an instructor electronically by clicking the “Nominate” button and completing the nomination form.


Nominations are due on Thursday, March 1st.

If you have any questions, please contact Kim Reilly or Mary Gichobi, Instructional Development Council Co-Chairs, at or

Thank you!

Student Nominated Teaching Award Winners

CATL and the Instructional Development Council are pleased to announce our 2017 Student Nominated Teaching Award (SNTA) Winners: Professors Levintova & Olson Hunt.

levintova Associate Professor Katia Levintova of Democracy and Justice Studies, Global Studies, and Political Science is the winner of the Experienced Teacher Award. Students praise Professor Levintova’s dedication to students and her clear passion for teaching. Her positive attitude and equity-minded approach to teaching promote students’ self-esteem in- and outside of her classroom, and her use of experiential learning draws her students into a rigorous exploration of politics across the globe.
olsonhunt Assistant Professor Megan Olson Hunt of Natural and Applied Sciences is the winner of the Early-Career Award. Her students marvel at her ability to spark a deep interest in statistics and math using real-life case studies and engaging lectures. Her enthusiasm for her field spreads to her students, and she provides extraordinary support to them as unique individuals to promote their success and well-being.

Students will present the awards at the University Leadership Awards Ceremony on Friday, May 12th.
​Congratulations, Professors!

© 2019 CATL Blog

Theme by Anders NorenUp ↑