The Professional Program in Nursing at the University of Wisconsin-Green Bay is proud to announce the beginning of an Alumni Newsletter.  We plan to publish the newsletter late-spring each year.  We will be bringing you information about alumni, recent graduates, faculty and staff as well as the latest news about your alma mater and the nursing program.  We hope you will send us updates about yourself so that we can stay in touch.  Also, refer any RN’s who may be interested in our program.  With the national online track, students can enroll from anywhere in the country!

HRSA Grant:

The UW-Green Bay Professional Program in Nursing is one of five UW Nursing programs (also including UW-Madison, Milwaukee, Eau Claire and Oshkosh) participating in a five year Dept. of Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) grant to enhance educational technology in nursing courses.   So far, this grant has focused on integration of telehealth technology, simulation, Geographic Information Systems (GIS) in health, learning activities in the virtual world program of Second Life, and podcasts. Upcoming projects will include problem focused learning and e-learning.

Distinguished Alumni Award:

Paula Fleurant, a class of 1975 undergraduate and 1986 Environmental Science and Policy master’s graduate was one of three graduates to receive a Distinguished Alumni Award in a ceremony on April 25.  Fleurant was a member of the UW-Green Bay Alumni Association Board of Directors from 1988 to 1995, serving in many leadership roles, including president from 1993-95. She was the quality care manager for St. Mary’s Hospital Medical Center in Green Bay from 2001 until her retirement in 2007. She spent 13 years as coordinator of infection control at St. Vincent Hospital, and has served in a number of healthcare-related capacities since beginning her professional career as a nurse in 1966.

New Nursing Graduates:

A total of 48 nursing students graduated during the 2008-2009 academic year.

Suzanne Benfield,  Sarah Oleson, Mary Beth Tichawa-McCarthy, Nikki Leow and Charlotte Ahrens attended the May 16 pre-graduation ceremony reception for nursing graduates.

Suzanne Benfield, Sarah Oleson, Mary Beth Tichawa-McCarthy, Nikki Leow and Charlotte Ahrens attended the May 16 pre-graduation ceremony reception for nursing graduates.

New graduates include:
Cynthia Brady, Roxanne Fish, Dawn McKay, Colleen Rademacher, Hollie Brockman, Julia Cam, Daniel Collins, Joan Compton, Darcie DiBasio, Ericka Eiserer, Elena Fry Hansen, Camella Granara, Lori Hendricks-Soderberg, Patricia Kleba, Sally Ledvina, Jennifer Matson, Marian Moreno, Mary Nasta, Courtney Nelson, Pamela O’Neil, Angela Peters, Kristina Smith, Paula Soletski, Jenna Fahey, Nikki Leow, Lori Peters, Aimee Ysebaert, Charlotte Ahrens, Larissa Bibber, Michelle Blakely, Caroline Chabot, Rebecca Fix, Gable Holderness, Cheryl Howard, Sarah Oleson, Alecia Sadowski, Mary Beth Tichawa-McCarthy,  Megan Beer, Suzanne Benfield, Joyce Clark, Victoria Craddick, Jill Fulkerson, William Haag, Kimberly Heeb, Anna Hiatt, Dina Irwin, Anna Latorre, Gurmitt Mann, Benjamin Patrick, Rachelle Petika, Laurie Potter, Monica Prosser, Ann Sarutzki, Penny Smith, Julie Snyder, Casey Tillery, and Andrea Wells.

Congratulations to all of our new alumni!

Honor Society Inductees:

If you are interested in induction as a nurse leader in Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society for Nurses, contact Jennifer Schwahn at: Congratulations to our recent inductees: Joyce Clark, Victoria Craddick, Benjamin Patrick, Monica Prosser, Casey Covington-Tillery, Nikki Leow, Sarah Oleson, Mary Beth Tichawa-McCarthy, Aimee Ysebaert, Sally Ledvina, Pamela O’Neil, Camella Granara, Courtney Nelson, Marion Moreno, and Paula Soletski.

Scholarship Recipients:

The following students were chosen to receive this year’s Loretta Wells Scholarship: Julie Baeten, Kimberly Kosmoski, Paula Ferron, and Cristin Elsing. Receiving this spring’s Northeastern Wisconsin Oncology Nurses Association scholarship was Kimberly Kosmoski.

Faculty News:

Our Chair of Nursing, Dr. Derryl Block visited the Universidad Nacional De Tumbes in Tumbes, Peru in January. The University, Nursing School, and community partners warmly welcomed her and are excited about possible collaborative efforts.

Dr. Block was also a member of the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) Baccalaureate Education Task Force which revised The Essentials of Baccalaureate Education for Professional Nursing Practice. The document was endorsed by the AACN and is available at

Baccalaureate Nursing students at that the Universidad Nacional De Tumbes in Tumbes, Peru with Dr. Block.

Baccalaureate Nursing students at that the Universidad Nacional De Tumbes in Tumbes, Peru with Dr. Block.

Recent faculty publication topics have included: A review of current treatment options in psychopharmacology; integrating telehealth in nursing curricula; perceived stress and sense of belonging in Doctor of Nursing Practice students; content analysis of holistic ethics; complementary therapies in clinical practice; transpersonal caring; the case for RN-BSN completion; and school nursing and delegation. Consult our website for more information:

Partnerships with ADN Programs:

We have developed an ADN partnership program and have 31 current partners in 20 different states.  Graduates of partner institutions benefit from guaranteed credit transfers, often including post ADN credits for general education classes. To recommend a prospective ADN program partner, email us at

We want to hear from you:

Please tell us of your professional accomplishments including new jobs, publications, successes at work, degrees after graduation, etc. Also, let us know if you have a change of address or other contact information, especially your email address.  Please send information updates to: