skip to content

College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

Hutchison’s text in fifth edition

Professor Ray Hutchison of Urban and Regional Studies is co-author of the fifth edition of  The New Urban Sociology, published last month by Westview Press.  Fellow co-authors include Mark Gottdiener and Michael Ryan.

Morgan elected to Peace History Society board

Eric J. Morgan, assistant professor of Democracy and Justice Studies, was recently elected to the board of the Peace History Society. Founded in 1964, the Peace History Society was created to encourage and coordinate national and international scholarly work to explore and articulate the conditions and causes of peace and war and to communicate the findings of scholarly work to the public. The 12-member Board advises the executive officers of the interdisciplinary Peace History Society, whose members include anthropologists, economists, historians, political scientists, sociologists and other scholars and students of movements for peace and social justice.

Riddle to be honored at regional theatre festival

Laura Riddle, professor of Theatre and Dance, will be honored with the Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival’s most prestigious regional award Saturday, Jan. 10 during the KCACTF Region III Festival at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.  Riddle will be one of three regional educators to receive the Kennedy Center Gold Medallion, considered one of the great honors in theatre education. Each year, the eight KCACTF regions honor individuals or organizations that have made extraordinary contributions to the teaching and production of theatre and who have dedicated their time, artistry and enthusiasm to the annual theatre festival. Honorees have demonstrated a strong commitment to the values and goals of KCACTF and to excellence in educational theatre.

Faculty selected for UW System teaching program

Associate Professor Kathleen Burns and of Human Development and Assistant Professor Elizabeth Wheat of Public and Environmental Affairs have been selected to participate in the 2015-16 UW System Wisconsin Teaching Fellows and Scholars program. Burns and Wheat were chosen UW-Green Bay’s designees through a competitive selection process. Each will receive a stipend and S&E support from the UW System’s Office of Professional and Instructional Development. Each participant will take part in program events throughout the year including a “faculty college” in May, and to undertake a significant project related to the scholarship of teaching and learning, to be shared publically at the conclusion of the year.