skip to content

College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

Regan A. R. Gurung appointed to national taskforce

Prof. Regan A. R. Gurung (Psychology and Human Development) has been appointed chair of a national taskforce charged with developing recommendations on best practices in teaching introductory psychology under the auspices of the American Psychological Association’s Board of Educational Affairs.

“Searching for Romeo”

The curtain lifts July 12 at the Weidner Center on the world premiere of “Searching for Romeo,” an original musical comedy penned by UW-Green Bay English Prof. Brian Sutton.

Curtain time is 7 p.m. Thursday (July 12th), Friday (July 13th),  and Saturday (July 14th) in the Jean Weidner Theatre.  An additional performance has been added at 2:00 p.m. on Saturday (July 14th).

Denise Scheberle, Professor Emerita of Public and Environmental Affairs, wins national teaching award

Denise Scheberle, Professor Emerita of Public and Environmental Affairs, has bee recognized as the 2012 national teacher of the year by the American Political Science Association. 

Scheberle will receive the Distinguished Teaching Award at the association’s annual conference later this year in New Orleans. The awards luncheon is Thursday, Aug. 30.

Adding to the distinction is the fact that Scheberle will receive the inaugural award. The award was established to honor outstanding contributions to undergraduate and graduate teaching of political science at two- and four-year institutions.

Michael Kraft, professor emeritus Public and Environmental Affairs, earns national book award on environmental politics

Coming Clean: Information Disclosure and Environmental Performance, a book co-authored by recently retired political science Prof. Michael Kraft of UW-Green Bay, has been awarded prestigious recognition by the American Political Science Association.

Coming Clean is the 2012 recipient of the APSA’s Lynton Keith Caldwell Prize for best scholarly book in environmental politics published in the last three years. The selection was made by the APSA’s Science, Technology and Environmental Politics section.  Kraft and his co-authors will be honored during the APSA annual meeting Aug. 31 in New Orleans.